Become a DIII-D Participant

Significant opportunities exist for participating in exciting research at all levels on the DIII-D tokamak in San Diego. The DIII-D program is a national and international collaboration among ~100 academic and corporate research institutions. Collaborators lead and manage elements of the program, generate ideas and innovations, lead experiments, build and operate diagnostics and equipment, analyze data, provide theory and modeling, and report and publish results. Graduate and undergraduate students also find opportunities for contributing to world-class fusion science.

The overall goal of the DIII-D program is to establish the scientific basis for the optimization of the tokamak approach to fusion energy. This includes specific emphasis on three areas of research:

  1. Prepare for Burning Plasmas: Deliver predictive understanding of the impact and optimization of burning plasma conditions on plasma performance in ITER and future devices.
  2. Evaluate the Requirements for Steady-State Tokamak Operation: Provide the physics understanding that establishes the requirements for achieving efficient, high performance, steady-state operation in future fusion devices.
  3. Establish the Physics Basis for Robust, Effective Plasma Boundary/Material Solutions: Develop and validate solutions for simultaneous heat and particle flux control including transients in future, high-power fusion devices.

DIII-D scientists are committed to addressing ITER research needs. Efforts in this area include pioneering work in control of core and edge instabilities, core stability and transport including the effect of low-torque operation (using co-counter current NBI and ECH heating/current drive), validating safe rapid plasma shutdown methods, testing and developing operating scenarios for ITER, developing physics models for partially detached divertor solutions, and evaluating plasma-material interactions.

The research program includes major elements of fusion science: transport, stability, energetic particles, heating and current drive, pedestal and boundary physics, and plasma-material interactions. A hallmark of the DIII-D program is its emphasis on model validation enabled by a world-leading diagnostic set. DIII-D actively participates in the International Tokamak Physics Activity (ITPA) and internationally coordinated multi-machine experiments.

DIII-D has a flexible set of heating and current-drive systems, including 20MW of neutral beam heating (co- and counter-current injection, with 5MW of variable off-axis injection and current drive), and 6 MW-class gyrotrons with steerable launchers for EC heating, current drive, and stability control. Multiple pellet injectors provide capability for ELM pacing, disruption mitigation, and fueling studies, while active density control is provided by three in-vessel cryopumps. The flexible shape control system allows lower-single-null, upper-single-null, and double-null shapes with a wide range of triangularity and elongation.

  • The DIII-D Internal Users Site is here.
  • The current DIII-D 5-year plan can be found here.

DIII-D Funding Opportunities Announcement

More detailed information on the DIII-D program is available in the peer reviewed “DIII-D National Fusion Program Five-Year Plan 2014-2018”, published in 2013, which is available at:

Recent updates on current research topics and plans may be found at:

To be considered for funding, applicants must have discussed their proposed research with the DIII-D National Research Program Leaders and must include a signed Record of Discussion (RoD), which is downloadable from:

Note: Records of discussions must be submitted for final signatures by Thursday, 09/07/2017 (well before the proposal submittal deadline). You should initiate the discussions with the DIII-D program early in the process, especially in terms of value to the program and required resources.

Contact information for key individuals in each topical area may be found at this link:

DIII-D International Research Team

U.S. Labs Japan European Community Russia
ANL JAERI Cadarache (France) Ioffe
INEL JT-60U Culham (England) Keldysh
LANL JFT-2M Frascati (Italy) Kurchatov
LANL NIFS FOM (Holland) Moscow State
LLNL LHD IPP (Garching) Troitsk
ORNL Tsukuba U. Joint European Torus
PNL KFA (Germany)
PPPL Lausanne (Switzerland)
U.S. Universities Other International Industry
Alaska MIT ASIPP (China) CompX
Cal Tech Palomar CCFM (Canada) CPI
Colorado Texas Chalmers U. (Sweden) Creare
Columbia UCB Helsinki U. (Finland) FAR Tech
Georgia Tech UCI KAIST (Korea) Gycom
Hampton UCLA KBSI (Korea) HiTech Metallurgical
Lehigh UCSD SWIP (China) IR&T
Maryland Washington U. Alberta (Canada) Orincon
Wisconsin U. Toronto (Canada) Surmet
U. Wales (Wales) U. Wales (Wales)
TSI Research
DIII-D Program Contact
Title Name E-mail (
Program Director Dave Hill Hilldn
Deputy Program Director Wayne Solomon Solomon
Assistant Director Chuck Greenfield Greenfield
Experimental Science Richard Buttery Buttery
Experimental Science (Deputy) Punit Gohil Gohil
BPMIC Houyang Guo Guohy
BPMIC (Deputy) Dan Thomas Thomas
Operations Arnie Kellman Kellman
Theory & Computational Science Phil Snyder Snyder
Computer & Diagnostic Systems Rejean Boivin Boivin
DIII-D Experimental Coordinator Max Fenstermacher Fenstermacher
LLNL Onsite Coordinator Steve Allen Allens
ORNL Onsite Coordinator Ezekial Unterberg Unterberge
PPPL Onsite Coordinator Raffi Nazikian Nazikian
UCLA Onsite Coordinator Terry Rhodes Rhodes
UCSD Onsite Coordinator Eric Hollman Hollman