2017 US/EU

Transport Task Force

Williamsburg, VA

April 25-28

Purpose of the Meeting

The ultimate goal of the U.S. Transport Task Force (TTF) is to develop a physics-based understanding of particle, momentum and heat transport in magnetic fusion devices. This understanding should be of sufficient depth that it allows the development of predictive models of plasma transport that can be validated against experiment, and then used to simulate the future performance of burning plasmas in ITER, and next-step fusion energy reactors. To achieve success in transport science, it is essential to characterize local fluctuations and transport in fusion grade plasmas, to understand the basic mechanisms responsible for transport, and ultimately to control these transport processes. These goals must be pursued in multiple research thrust, and the TTF workshop focus topics evolve to reflect emerging advances in physics understanding.

Predict First Initiative

The 2017 Workshop will introduce an emphasis on developing and using transport tools to predict the outcome of experiments in present fusion plasma research machines. This Predict First Initiative will enhance the efficient use of experimental runtime in the near term and will provide more rigorous validation tests for the theory taking the next step towards the ultimate goal of the TTF to produce validated predictive transport models.

Important Dates

  • Conference: April 25-28, 2017
  • Deadline for Abstract Submission: Febuary 17, 2017
  • Deadline for Hotel Reservation: March 17,2017

Plenary Topics and Speakers:

Transport prediction for experimental planning and real time control systems:

  • Francesca Poli (PPPL)
  • Alexei Pankin (LLNL)

Advances in Core Transport:

  • Rachael McDermott (IPP Germany)
  • Alberto Mariani (EPFL Switzerland)
  • Kathreen Thome (ORAU)

Impact of 3D fields on Transport:

  • Yueqiang Liu (GA)
  • Raffi Nazikian (PPPL)

Pedestal structure and dynamics:

  • Devon Battaglia (PPPL)
  • Michael Kotschenreuther (U Texas)
  • Jerry Hughes (MIT) & Phil Snyder (GA)

Transport induced by energetic particle (EP) instabilities:

  • Bill Heidbrink (UC Irvine)
  • Vinicius Duarte (PPPL)
  • Yaqi Liu (Peking U China)
  • Shawn Tang (UCLA)
  • Jacobo Varela (ORNL)

Scrape off layer (SOL) transport and impact on core plasma:

  • David Green (ORNL)
  • Payam Vaezi (UCSD)
  • Elizabeth Tolman (MIT)
  • Odd Erik Garcia (UIT Norway)
  • Ning Yan (IPP China)